Awareness through street art

The first unit my art class is working on is “Street Story”. Basically, street art.

So, we just got our first homework assignment, nothing too big. We had to pick a cause and then create a drawing that raises awareness of that.

IMG_1636

And that is what I decided to draw ☝

It shows a girl’s eye with a tear sliding down. In the reflection of her eye, there is a panda, whose habitat has been destroyed by deforestation or perhaps pollution.

At first, I had no idea what to draw, or even what I wanted to spread awareness about – there are so many issues in the world. I was thinking of spreading awareness of gender inequality, racial inequality, global warming, pollution, etc.

The biggest struggle was to find an idea that actually did inform and inspire people of this cause, and I am still not sure that my final piece has achieved doing so. Although, I am very happy with it.

IMG_1619
My drawing of a face

But for a long time, I didn’t have any ideas of what to draw. The day before I created this piece, I had just finished drawing a face (which actually started off as me following an eye drawing tutorial), and then I was Face Timing with my friend when I suddenly got the idea of showing something through the reflection of an eye.

I made a few thumbnail sketches to try out some ideas, but I ended up sticking with the eye thing.

It took me a few hours to finish my drawing, although, I did have some struggles.

One of them was that I created the eye so big, in order to fill out an entire A4 page, and that made it challenging to make the eye look realistic, because you see all the small flaws on a much bigger scale, whereas if I had just created a small eye with a face, you wouldn’t have noticed. That’s why I’ve taken so long with extra shadowing, extra shading, always finding something little to improve on. But I guess that is always how art is created.

.jpg
My thumbnail sketches

Another challenge was making the reflection actually look like a reflection. I kind of gave up on that and just wanted to get my word out there with the panda and its habitat, which was also really difficult to draw and didn’t end up very well, but I’m okay with it!

 

Please leave me some feedback in the comments on what you think of my drawing! ❤

Leave a comment